The Project

LUDWIG with Rosanne van Sandwijk (soprano) and Ralph van Raat (piano).

LUDWIG ponders on bygone days, taking the early twentieth-century American masters as its sources – but our own younger generation is also heard: Joey Roukens describes his string quartet Ecstasy as “a single wild outpouring of rushing, ecstatic energy … exuberant and euphoric, with rousing rhythms, obsessively recurring patterns, seemingly minimalistic passages and references to pop music.”

Aaron Copland, Appalachian spring
Joey Roukens, Ecstasy for string quartet
Copland/Bernstein, El Salón México (arrangement for solo piano by Leonard Bernstein)
Samuel Barber, Adagio from String quartet No. 2
Leonard Bernstein, So pretty
Charles Ives, Memories
Charles Ives, The circus band



Fri, November 3, 2017
TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht
Nostalgia and Ecstasy
more info